Please wait...

Register

Search for the best GP jobs today

Due to COVID-19 there are travel restrictions in place. We have compiled the latest Australian interstate travel information here. Plus the latest international travel information here.

Partner with our dedicated General Practice team for the best GP jobs and to receive the individual support and attention you deserve.

With our extensive network of public and private practices across metro, coastal, rural and regional areas, you can access the widest range of GP locum jobs and permanent General Practitioner jobs. Whether you want to join an established general practice looking for a new GP, secure a lucrative GP job in a private practice, take up a General Practitioner job in the Emergency Department of a larger hospital or even run an entire hospital in a remote community, the choice is yours.

If you’re looking for more flexibility, why not consider a GP locum contract? With placements ranging from a week to six months and with accommodation and travel included, locum GP jobs could have you start your most rewarding career journey yet. We also have GP job opportunities in rural and remote Australia if you'd like to contribute to improving the health of communities in Aboriginal Medical Services (AMS). You could also supplement or maximise your income by choosing to do General Practitioner Telehealth consultations on the side.

Whatever your General Practice career aspirations are, our GP recruitment consultants will get to know you personally and go above and beyond in finding you the General Practitioner jobs best suited to your career, lifestyle and interests.

Our service is free for Doctors – We work with you to find the perfect GP locum job or make a permanent career change with a new GP job. Our team provides top quality service and assistance, explaining the process and guiding you through required paperwork, applications for Medicare provider and prescriber numbers, as well as managing all negotiations with the medical practice or hospital.

Register today to find your next GP job and speak to our GP team about where you can work, your earning potential, how the billing system works and much more.

Register

 

What is the average salary for GP jobs?

General Practitioner jobs in Australia can earn the following:

  • Permanent GP jobs: earn a salary of approx. $200,000 to $300,000 per year. However, earning capacity varies greatly from role to role.

  • Other medical practices offer General Practitioners a % of billings

  • GP Locum rates range from $1,200 to $3,000 per day on average and depend on the level of experience, the location, and the length of locum contract. Most GP Locum jobs also include accommodation and travel (typically for locum jobs outside metro areas).

 

What Subspecialties of General Practice do we recruit for?

In addition to General Family Medicine, we provide exclusive access to the best General Practitioner Jobs, both locum and permanent GP job vacancies, in the following areas:

Corporate Health GP, Anaesthetics GP, Procedural Obstetrics Correctional Health
GP, Emergency Medicine Sexual Health Family Planning GP, Minor surgery
Indigenous Medicine
(Aboriginal
Medical Services)
     

 

What qualifications do you need for a GP job in Australia and New Zealand?

Our regulatory and migration team has compiled a list of qualifications required for GPs to work in Australia and New Zealand here.

Once you register and start your General Practitioner job search with us, take advantage of our in-house migration team expertise to help you discover the best pathway to finding your dream GP job in Australia or New Zealand.

Register for GP locum jobs  or Permanent GP jobs today. We’ll be in touch for a confidential discussion to help you advance your medical career.

The team at Wavelength are knowledgeable, professional, helpful and friendly. They took the time to understand my needs and always manage to match it with the locum GP job that is just right for me.

Dr Sejal Mishra
General Practitioner

The level of individual support and attention given to me by the Wavelength team always makes me feel as though I am their only Client; knowing very well that isn't the case. They are all very dedicated and take the greatest pride in their work. With all of them looking out for my best interests, I have had the best support in my job search. All I can say to them is a big Thank you!

Dr Sumana Chadalavada
General Practitioner

Wavelength understands the sort of jobs I want to do, and they find me plenty of good roles. The last few years working with Wavelength have been the most professionally rewarding part of my career, I'm really enjoying it.

Dr Charles Lee
General Practitioner
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Results 42 locum jobs found

Filter by
Sort by
Specialty: Seniority: Location: Start: Rates:  
GP Emergency General Practitioner Batemans Bay, NSW, Australia Immediate $2,000 per day Apply

Work in the picturesque South Coast of NSW in these various ED roles!

Join a dedicated team of professionals at one or two locations along the South Coast. Solo doctor position with fantastic nursing support.

Duration: Various blocks
Conditions: DAY SHIFT
7am-5pm
2 November
13 November
16 November
30 November
1 December
2 December
23 December
25 December
4 January
6 January
10 January
13 January
16 - 17 January
19 January
23 - 24 January

9am-7pm
26 - 28 December
4 January
6 January
23 - 25 January

10am-8pm
3 November
10 November
29 December

NIGHT SHIFT
7.30pm-7.30am
21 - 25 December
26 - 31 December
1 - 3 January
4 - 10 January
11 - 17 January
18 - 24 January
27 - 31 January

9.30pm-7.30am
4 - 9 November
18 - 22 November
23 - 25 November
2 - 6 December
7 - 11 December
16 - 18 December
19 - 20 December

12pm-10pm
8 November
15 November
22 November
28 - 29 November
24 - 27 December
29 December
31 December
2 January
5 January
8 - 10 January
12 January
17 January
20 January
26 January
30 - 31 January
Credentials: Must have FRACGP or FACRRM. You must either be an Australian or New Zealand Citizen, an Australian Permanent Resident or on a 457 Temporary Work Visa.
Job ID: J106531
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
GP AMS General Practitioner Sydney, NSW, Australia Immediate $150 per hour Apply

GP Locum

Provide GP services in south-western Sydney.

Duration: Ongoing
Conditions: The clinic requires a GP on a part time basis, ideally Monday and Wednesday but they could accommodate other days during the week. Hours are 8am - 6pm however the clinic will accept hours within this window.
Credentials: FRACGP/VR Status with Medicare.
Job ID: J106504
Contact Anna Mullins on +61 2 8353 9028 or email amullins@wave.com.au
GP Emergency General Practitioner Location Upon Request , NSW, Australia Immediate $145 per hour Apply

Locum GP ED CMO needed in NSW!

Top up your income over the holidays in this beautiful city of Macksville.

Duration: Various shifts
Conditions: Dates:
0800 – 1800
21st November - 22nd November
25th November
6th December
14th December
21st December
26th December - 27th December

1300 – 2300
2nd November
28th November - 30th November
2nd December
6th December
11th December
13th December
20th December - 21st December
23rd December
27th December

2230 – 0830
28th October - 29th October
3rd November - 11th November
21st November - 25th November
27th November
30th November - 7th December
12th December
14th December
17th December - 18th December
21st December - 8th January
14th January - 20th January
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: J106529
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
General Practice, GP Emergency General Practitioner Grafton , NSW, Australia Immediate $145 per hour Apply

GP ED required in the mid north coast of NSW

You will see a variety of presentations including regular GP type cases and 51% of level 1-3 cases.

Duration: Various shifts available
Conditions: Dates:
1200hrs to 2030hrs $145ph
?Monday 25 January to Wednesday 27 January 2021
?Monday 01 February to Wednesday 03 February 2021
?Monday 08 February to Wednesday 10 February 2021
?aturday 13 February to Wednesday 17 February 2021
?Monday 22 February to Wednesday 24 February 2021
?Monday 01 March to Wednesday 03 March 2021
?Monday 08 March to Wednesday 17 March 2021

2215hrs to 0815hrs $145ph
?Thursday 03 December to Thursday 10 December
?Thursday 14 January to Thursday 21 January 2021
?Thursday 28 January to Thursday 04 February 2021
?Thursday 11 February to Thursday 18 February 2021
?Thursday 25 February to Thursday 04 March 2021

0730hrs to 1600hrs $145ph
?Monday 07 December
?Tuesday 26 January to Wednesday 27 January 2021
?Monday 01 February to Tuesday 02 February 2021
?Monday 15 February to Tuesday 16 February 2021
?Saturday 20 February to Wednesday 24 February 2021
?Monday 01 March to Tuesday 02 March 2021
?Monday 15 March to Tuesday 16 March 2021
?Saturday 20 March to Wednesday 24 March 2021
?Monday 29 March to Tuesday 30 March 2021
?Saturday 03 April to Wednesday 07 April 2021

1400hrs to 2230hrs $145ph
?Wednesday 25 November
?Saturday 12 December to Sunday 13 December
?Wednesday 27 January to Friday 29 January 2021
?Wednesday 03 February to Sunday 07 February 2021
?Wednesday 10 February to Friday 12 February 2021
?Wednesday 17 February to Sunday 21 February 2021
?Wednesday 24 February to Friday 26 February 2021
?Wednesday 03 March to Sunday 07 March 2021
?Monday 10 March to Friday 12 March 2021
?Wednesday 17 March to Sunday 21 March 2021
?Wednesday 24 March to Friday 26 March 2021
?Wednesday 31 March to Sunday 04 April 2021
?Wednesday 14 April to Sunday 18 April 2021
?Wednesday 21 April to Friday 23 April 2021
Credentials: You must have General Registration with AHPRA. NCRC & NSW Working with Children Check required.
Job ID: J106495
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
General Practice, GP Emergency General Practitioner Grafton , NSW, Australia Immediate $200 per hour Apply

GP VMO required in the mid north coast of NSW

You will see a variety of presentations including regular GP type cases and 51% of level 1-3 cases.

Duration: Various shifts available
Conditions: Dates:
? Wednesday 09 December
? Monday 18 January 2021
? Saturday 23 January 2021
? Monday 25 January 2021
? Saturday 30 January 2021
? Saturday 13 February 2021
? Thursday 25 February 2021
? Saturday 06 March 2021
? Monday 15 March 2021
? Saturday 27 March 2021
? Monday 29 March 2021
? Saturday 03 April 2021
? Monday 12 April 2021
? Saturday 24 April 2021
? Monday 26 April 2021
Shift: 0700hrs to 1730hrs

? Sunday 10 January 2021
? Sunday 24 January 2021
? Thursday 04 February to Saturday 06 February 2021
? Wednesday 24 February 2021
? Friday 05 March 2021
? Thursday 11 March 2021
? Sunday 14 March 2021
? Wednesday 17 March to Saturday 20 March 2021
? Thursday 25 March to Friday 26 March 2021
? Sunday 28 March 2021
? Friday 02 April 2021
? Thursday 08 April 2021
? Sunday 11 April 2021
? Wednesday 14 April to Saturday 17 April 2021
? Thursday 22 April to Friday 23 April 2021
? Sunday 25 April 2021
Shift: 1400hrs to 2400hrs
On-call 2400hrs – 0700hrs
Credentials: You must have General Registration with AHPRA. NCRC & NSW Working with Children Check required.
Job ID: J106494
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
Emergency Medicine (A&E), General Practice, GP Emergency General Practitioner Lightning Ridge, NSW, Australia Immediate $2,000 per day or 15% of billings, whichever is greater. Apply

Come to the Ridge seeking opal, landscape and legends

Work with the best professionals in town!

Duration: 1.5 months
Conditions: Dates:
14 December – 25 January


Flights, accommodation and car provided
Credentials: AHPRA registration. NSW Health credentialing. NSW WWCC. NCRC. immunisations and vaccinations.
Job ID: J107162
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
GP Emergency General Practitioner Albury , NSW, Australia Immediate $180 per hour Apply

Locum GP ED CMO required in NSW!

Be part of a cohesive medicine team in this local hospital.

Duration: Various shifts
Conditions: Dates:
0800 - 1800
14 – 15 December
24 – 27 December
31 December
2 – 3 January
8 – 12 January
15 – 18 January
23 January – 27 January
30 – 31 January

1000 – 2000
5 – 7 December

1230 – 2200
1 November
7 – 8 November

1330 – 2300
13 October

1400 – 2400
4 December
24 – 27 December
31 December
4 – 9 January
13 January
17 – 25 January
28 January

2130 – 0830
28 December – 3 January
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: J106528
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Central West Region, NSW, Australia Immediate $2,000 per day Apply

Locum GP ED - Gilgandra, NSW

Bask in the beauty of a quiet town on the Macquarie River

Duration: Various blocks
Conditions: Dates:
23 – 30 December
30 December – 6 January
6 – 13 January
13 – 20 January


0700-1800 + on call 1800-0700
Travel/Accom/Car provided
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare
AHPRA Registration
Job ID: J107147
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
GP Obstetrics General Practitioner Eyre Peninsula , SA, Australia Immediate $2,000 per day Apply

This hospital in SA is seeking a locum GP Obstetrician!

This area is boasting a pleasant climate and fantastic coastal scenery.

Duration: 3 blocks
Conditions: Dates:
23 – 28 December 2020
19 – 24 January 2021
23 February – 31 March 2021
Credentials: AHPRA Registration
Job ID: J107556
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
Emergency Medicine (A&E), GP Emergency General Practitioner Wellington, NSW, Australia Immediate $2,000 per day or 13% of billings, whichever is greater. Apply

Locum GP ED required in a breathtaking location

Make a difference in this friendly facility

Duration: Various blocks
Conditions: Dates:
24 December – 3 January
10 – 17 January
24 – 31 January
7 – 14 February


Travel & Accommodation provided
Credentials: AHPRA registration. NSW Health credentialing. NSW WWCC. NCRC. immunisations and vaccinations.
Job ID: J107158
Contact Priscilla Haley on 02 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au