Please wait...

Register

Search for the best GP jobs today

Due to COVID-19 there are travel restrictions in place. We have compiled the latest Australian interstate travel information here. Plus the latest international travel information here.

Partner with our dedicated General Practice team for the best GP jobs and to receive the individual support and attention you deserve.

With our extensive network of public and private practices across metro, coastal, rural and regional areas, you can access the widest range of GP locum jobs and permanent General Practitioner jobs. Whether you want to join an established general practice looking for a new GP, secure a lucrative GP job in a private practice, take up a General Practitioner job in the Emergency Department of a larger hospital or even run an entire hospital in a remote community, the choice is yours.

If you’re looking for more flexibility, why not consider a GP locum contract? With placements ranging from a week to six months and with accommodation and travel included, locum GP jobs could have you start your most rewarding career journey yet. We also have GP job opportunities in rural and remote Australia if you'd like to contribute to improving the health of communities in Aboriginal Medical Services (AMS). You could also supplement or maximise your income by choosing to do General Practitioner Telehealth consultations on the side.

Whatever your General Practice career aspirations are, our GP recruitment consultants will get to know you personally and go above and beyond in finding you the General Practitioner jobs best suited to your career, lifestyle and interests.

Our service is free for Doctors – We work with you to find the perfect GP locum job or make a permanent career change with a new GP job. Our team provides top quality service and assistance, explaining the process and guiding you through required paperwork, applications for Medicare provider and prescriber numbers, as well as managing all negotiations with the medical practice or hospital.

Register today to find your next GP job and speak to our GP team about where you can work, your earning potential, how the billing system works and much more.

Register

 

What is the average salary for GP jobs?

General Practitioner jobs in Australia can earn the following:

  • Permanent GP jobs: earn a salary of approx. $200,000 to $300,000 per year. However, earning capacity varies greatly from role to role.

  • Other medical practices offer General Practitioners a % of billings

  • GP Locum rates range from $1,200 to $3,000 per day on average and depend on the level of experience, the location, and the length of locum contract. Most GP Locum jobs also include accommodation and travel (typically for locum jobs outside metro areas).

 

What Subspecialties of General Practice do we recruit for?

In addition to General Family Medicine, we provide exclusive access to the best General Practitioner Jobs, both locum and permanent GP job vacancies, in the following areas:

Corporate Health GP, Anaesthetics GP, Procedural Obstetrics Correctional Health
GP, Emergency Medicine Sexual Health Family Planning GP, Minor surgery
Indigenous Medicine
(Aboriginal
Medical Services)
     

 

What qualifications do you need for a GP job in Australia and New Zealand?

Our regulatory and migration team has compiled a list of qualifications required for GPs to work in Australia and New Zealand here.

Once you register and start your General Practitioner job search with us, take advantage of our in-house migration team expertise to help you discover the best pathway to finding your dream GP job in Australia or New Zealand.

Register for GP locum jobs  or Permanent GP jobs today. We’ll be in touch for a confidential discussion to help you advance your medical career.

The team at Wavelength are knowledgeable, professional, helpful and friendly. They took the time to understand my needs and always manage to match it with the locum GP job that is just right for me.

Dr Sejal Mishra
General Practitioner

The level of individual support and attention given to me by the Wavelength team always makes me feel as though I am their only Client; knowing very well that isn't the case. They are all very dedicated and take the greatest pride in their work. With all of them looking out for my best interests, I have had the best support in my job search. All I can say to them is a big Thank you!

Dr Sumana Chadalavada
General Practitioner

Wavelength understands the sort of jobs I want to do, and they find me plenty of good roles. The last few years working with Wavelength have been the most professionally rewarding part of my career, I'm really enjoying it.

Dr Charles Lee
General Practitioner
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Results 42 locum jobs found

Filter by
Sort by
Specialty: Seniority: Location: Start: Rates:  
General Practice, GP Emergency General Practitioner Grafton , NSW, Australia Immediate $145 per hour Apply

GP ED required in the mid north coast of NSW

You will see a variety of presentations including regular GP type cases and 51% of level 1-3 cases.

Duration: Various shifts available
Conditions: Dates:
1200hrs to 2030hrs $145ph
?Monday 25 January to Wednesday 27 January 2021
?Monday 01 February to Wednesday 03 February 2021
?Monday 08 February to Wednesday 10 February 2021
?aturday 13 February to Wednesday 17 February 2021
?Monday 22 February to Wednesday 24 February 2021
?Monday 01 March to Wednesday 03 March 2021
?Monday 08 March to Wednesday 17 March 2021

2215hrs to 0815hrs $145ph
?Thursday 03 December to Thursday 10 December
?Thursday 14 January to Thursday 21 January 2021
?Thursday 28 January to Thursday 04 February 2021
?Thursday 11 February to Thursday 18 February 2021
?Thursday 25 February to Thursday 04 March 2021

0730hrs to 1600hrs $145ph
?Monday 07 December
?Tuesday 26 January to Wednesday 27 January 2021
?Monday 01 February to Tuesday 02 February 2021
?Monday 15 February to Tuesday 16 February 2021
?Saturday 20 February to Wednesday 24 February 2021
?Monday 01 March to Tuesday 02 March 2021
?Monday 15 March to Tuesday 16 March 2021
?Saturday 20 March to Wednesday 24 March 2021
?Monday 29 March to Tuesday 30 March 2021
?Saturday 03 April to Wednesday 07 April 2021

1400hrs to 2230hrs $145ph
?Wednesday 25 November
?Saturday 12 December to Sunday 13 December
?Wednesday 27 January to Friday 29 January 2021
?Wednesday 03 February to Sunday 07 February 2021
?Wednesday 10 February to Friday 12 February 2021
?Wednesday 17 February to Sunday 21 February 2021
?Wednesday 24 February to Friday 26 February 2021
?Wednesday 03 March to Sunday 07 March 2021
?Monday 10 March to Friday 12 March 2021
?Wednesday 17 March to Sunday 21 March 2021
?Wednesday 24 March to Friday 26 March 2021
?Wednesday 31 March to Sunday 04 April 2021
?Wednesday 14 April to Sunday 18 April 2021
?Wednesday 21 April to Friday 23 April 2021
Credentials: You must have General Registration with AHPRA. NCRC & NSW Working with Children Check required.
Job ID: J106495
Contact Priscilla Haley on +61 2 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
General Practice, GP Emergency General Practitioner Grafton , NSW, Australia Immediate $200 per hour Apply

GP VMO required in the mid north coast of NSW

You will see a variety of presentations including regular GP type cases and 51% of level 1-3 cases.

Duration: Various shifts available
Conditions: Dates:
? Wednesday 09 December
? Monday 18 January 2021
? Saturday 23 January 2021
? Monday 25 January 2021
? Saturday 30 January 2021
? Saturday 13 February 2021
? Thursday 25 February 2021
? Saturday 06 March 2021
? Monday 15 March 2021
? Saturday 27 March 2021
? Monday 29 March 2021
? Saturday 03 April 2021
? Monday 12 April 2021
? Saturday 24 April 2021
? Monday 26 April 2021
Shift: 0700hrs to 1730hrs

? Sunday 10 January 2021
? Sunday 24 January 2021
? Thursday 04 February to Saturday 06 February 2021
? Wednesday 24 February 2021
? Friday 05 March 2021
? Thursday 11 March 2021
? Sunday 14 March 2021
? Wednesday 17 March to Saturday 20 March 2021
? Thursday 25 March to Friday 26 March 2021
? Sunday 28 March 2021
? Friday 02 April 2021
? Thursday 08 April 2021
? Sunday 11 April 2021
? Wednesday 14 April to Saturday 17 April 2021
? Thursday 22 April to Friday 23 April 2021
? Sunday 25 April 2021
Shift: 1400hrs to 2400hrs
On-call 2400hrs – 0700hrs
Credentials: You must have General Registration with AHPRA. NCRC & NSW Working with Children Check required.
Job ID: J106494
Contact Priscilla Haley on +61 2 8353 9043 or email phaley@wave.com.au
General Practice, GP Obstetrics General Practitioner Broome , WA, Australia Immediate $2,161 per day Apply

Busy hospital in WA is looking for a locum GP Obstetrician

Escape the city for outback adventures and the wilderness..

Duration: Various blocks
Conditions: Dates:
? Mon 4th Jan to Mon 1st Feb
? Mon 18th Jan to Sun 7th Feb
? Mon 29th Mar to Mon 19th April
? Fri 2nd July to Mon 19th July
? Fri 24th Sept to Mon 11th Oct

My client is a rural and remote hospital looking for a Senior Medical Officer Obstetrics. The SMO Obstetrician will hold FRACGP or FACCRM and will have several years experience of emergency medicine, preferably in rural and remote hospitals in Australia
Credentials: Must hold FRACGP or FACCRM as well as a JCCA. You must either be an Australian or New Zealand Citizen, an Australian Permanent Resident or on a 457 Temporary Work Visa.
Job ID: J106682
Contact Robert Jefferies on +61 2 8353 9000 or email rjefferies@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Melbourne, VIC, Australia Immediate $150 per hour Apply

Locum GP needed at Correctional Facility based 200km east of Melbourne

Break free from routine and take this locum opportunity

Duration: 7 months
Conditions: Travel reimbursed, accommodation provided.

This prison is Victoria's largest regional correctional centre for minimum to medium security male prisoners, of which there are approximately 700. The Doctor works in the clinic 1 day a week and for the rest of the time it is run by general nursing staff.

Credentials: AHPRA registration.
Indemnity Insurance
FRACGP/VR Status with Medica.
Job ID: J108207
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Omeo, VIC, Australia Immediate $1,300 per day Apply

Locum GP needed in Gippsland East, VIC!

Visit this historic goldmining town on the Victorian side of the Snowy Mountains

Duration: Various dates available
Conditions: Dartes:
ASAP - 31 December
As per roster

Recently renovated Doctor’s house is located within walking distance (100 metres) from main building of the hospital. Car is provided.
You will be working on 15 min appointments. On-Call / After Hours required.
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. ALS. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: J108225
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Beechboro - Perth, ACT, Australia Immediate $150 per hour Apply

Beechboro - GP Locum

GP wanted for locum work at beautiful Beechboro

Duration: 3 months
Conditions: You get the best of both worlds in Perth, where soft-sand beaches and scenic parks meet a bustling metropolis of small bars, restaurants and curated street art.
This family practice is a newly purpose built medical centre with a supportive team. You will be working from Monday to Friday only, your weekends will be free to explore beautiful Perth!
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. APHRA Registration.
Job ID: J108397
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Melbourne, VIC, Australia Immediate $150 per hour Apply

Locum GP - Wallan, VIC

Use your skills & experience to help this practice located 45min away from Melbourne's CBD.

Duration: 6 months
Conditions: Dates:
ASAP - 6 months

Minimum 28 weekday hours plus 6 Saturday hours. The clinic has 4 consultation rooms, and 1 treatment room. You will be working alongside 3 other doctors, 1 FT nurse, 3 reception staff, and 1 practice manager. Medical Director/Pracsoft is used.
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: J108640
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Brisbane, QLD, Australia Immediate $150 per hour Apply

Locum GP - South Brisbane, QLD

Pristine bushland reserves and wetlands, as well as manicured waterfront parks along the Logan River awaits

Duration: ASAP – for 3 to 6 months. Will consider 2-4 week minimum
Conditions: Date:
ASAP – for 3 to 6 months. Will consider 2-4 week minimum

This bulk billing clinics uses Best Practice. There are 4 consulting rooms and at this time you will be working alongside 4 very experienced GPs with the support of 2 registered nurse. There is pathology and a chemist next door. Hours are 8:30- 5:00pm Monday to Friday and 9-5pm on Saturday and Sunday. It is not essential to be available on weekends but desirable.
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: V-090146
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au
GP AMS General Practitioner Napranum, QLD, Australia Immediate $1,500 per day Apply

GP AMS in Cape York

Visit the spectacular Cape York and support Indigenous communities.

Duration: Ongoing dates until December 2020 - 6 weeks as a minimum
Conditions: Working in an outreach clinic of an Indigenous health service, you willl be working supported by another GP, admin staff and Aboriginal Health workers. This is a well-organised, popular role and each community presents a new experience.

You will be COVID tested on Monday and will fly to community on Tuesday following a negative result.
Credentials: FRACGP/VR Status with Medicare. ALS2 or equivlent essential.
Job ID: J100721
Contact Anna Mullins on +61 2 8353 9028 or email amullins@wave.com.au
General Practice General Practitioner Central Coast , NSW, Australia Immediate $140 per hour Apply

Locum GP - Central Coast, NSW

Only a short distance from Sydney, head to the beautiful Central Coast for your next locum and experience the relaxed lifestyle, ocean beaches and all the fun activities that it has to offer.

Duration: Ongoing
Conditions: Dates:
19 February - ongoing

This is a solo GP Practice. You will be seeing 4-5 patients per hour. Accommodation is provided and travel be reimbursed. You will be working 7 hours per day. Nursing support is available on Wednesdays and Fridays + 1 Receptionist. Currently 1 receptionist + 1 Doctor only. Treatment room and 2 consulting rooms available. Pracnet is used.
Credentials: FRACGP or VR status with Medicare. Current registration with AHPRA.
Job ID: J108845
Contact Rachel Battersby on +61 2 8353 9006 or email rbattersby@wave.com.au